Thank the Universities that Said No to the ASA!

By Rabbi Jeffrey K. Salkin

While the ASA was deciding to help put Israel into an academic ghetto, something was happening behind our backs – something by no means insidious, but, rather, redemptive.

The academic world did not stay silent. Quite the contrary. To date, twenty-five American universities have refused to join the ASA boycott. In many cases, they have also issued strongly worded protests against the Association’s actions.

Here are the names of the presidents or chancellors of each university, along with their contact information. Because it is not enough to scream gevalt when we have been wounded. We also have to scream “thank you” to those who are our friends, to those who stood up for truth, to those who have refused to have their educational institutions seduced by all too common siren song of anti-Israelism. We need to thank those institutions, especially if we are alumni of them, and/or our children or grandchildren attend them. .

This is the mitzvah of hakarat ha-tov – recognizing the good. Thank these university officials for their universities’ courage in standing up to the American Studies Association. Thank them for their commitment to truth and to intellectual honesty. Thank them for the generosity of spirit that they demonstrated towards the State of Israel. Idea: reproduce this list in your bulletin, service handouts, and web site.

Boston University. Dr. Robert A. Brown, President. John and Kathryn Silber Administrative Center, 1 Silber Way (8th Floor), Boston, MA. 02215.

Brandeis University. Fred Laurence, President. Office of the President, Irving Enclave 113, MS 100, 415 South Street, Waltham, MA 02453

Brown University. Christina Paxson, President. Office of the President, Brown University, Box 1860, 1 Prospect Street, Providence, RI 02912

Cornell University. David J. Skorton, President. Office of the President, 300 Day Hall, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853.

Dickinson College. Nancy A. Roseman, President. Dickinson College, Post Office Box 1773 , Carlisle, PA 17013.

Duke University. Richard A. Brodhead, President. Office of the President, Duke University, 207 Allen Building, Box 90001, Durham, NC 27708-0001.

George Washington University. Steven Knapp, President. Rice Hall, 2121 I Street, NW, Suite 801, Washington, DC 20052

Harvard University. Dr. Drew Faust, President. Office of the President, Harvard University, Massachusetts Hall, Cambridge, MA 02138

Indiana University. Michael A. McRobbie, President. Office of the President, Indiana University, Bryan Hall 200, 107 S. Indiana Ave., Bloomington, IN 47405

Michigan State University. Lou Anna K. Simon, President. Office of the President, Michigan State University, 426 Auditorium Road, Hannah Administration Building, Room 450, East Lansing, MI 48824-1046.

New York University. John Sexton, President. Office of the President, New York University, 70 Washington Square South, New York, NY 10012

Northwestern University. Morton Shapiro, President. 2-130 Rebecca Crown Center, 633 Clark Street, Evanston, Illinois

Princeton University. Christopher L. Eisgruber, President. Office of the President, 1 Nassau Hall, Princeton University, Princeton, NJ 08544

Tulane University. Scott S. Cowen, President. Tulane University, 218 Gibson Hall, 6823 St. Charles Avenue, New Orleans, LA 70118-5684

University of California-Irvine. Michael V. Drake, MD, Chancellor.

University of California, Irvine, Irvine, CA 92697

University of California-San Diego. Praddep K. Khosia, chancellor-elect.

Office of the Chancellor, University of California, San Diego, 9500 Gilman Drive # 0005, La Jolla, California 92093-0005.

University of Kansas. Bernadette Gray-Little, Chancellor. Chancellor’s Office, University of Kansas, 230 Strong Hall, Lawrence, KS

University of Maryland. Wallace D. Loh, President. University of Maryland, 1101 Main Administration Building, College Park, MD 20742-6105

University of Pennsylvania. Amy Gutmann, President. Office of the President, University of Pennsylvania, 1 College Hall, Room 100, Philadelphia, PA 19104-6380.

University of Pittsburgh. Mark Nordenberg, Chancellor. University of Pittsburgh , 107 Cathedral of Learning, Pittsburgh, PA 15260

University of Texas-Austin. William Powers, Jr., President. Office of the President, 110 Inner Campus Drive, Stop G3400, Austin, TX. 78712-3400

Washington University in St. Louis. Mark Stephen Wrighton, Chancellor.

Campus Box 1192, One Brookings Drive , St. Louis, MO 63130

Wesleyan University. Michael S. Roth, President. 229 High Street, Middletown, CT. 06459.

Willamette University. Stephen E. Thorsett, President. 900 State Street, Salem, Oregon 97301

Yale University. Peter Salovey, President. President’s Office , Yale University PO Box 208229 , New Haven, CT 06520-8229


Rabbi Jeffrey K. Salkin is the rabbi of Temple Beth Am, Bayonne, NJ. He blogs at Martini Judaism.

Twitter Digg Delicious Stumbleupon Technorati Facebook Email
Guest Blogger

About Guest Blogger accepts submissions for consideration. Send your posts to Please include biographical information, including your affiliation with any Reform congregation or institution.

3 Responses to “Thank the Universities that Said No to the ASA!”

  1. avatar

    An important post, and a wonderful idea. One note: Happily, the list of colleges to acknowledge seems to be growing all the time. For the most up to date list, I advise checking with and/or


  1. Words of the Week: University Statements Rejecting Academic Boycott of Israel | - January 1, 2014

    […] also: Rabbi Jeffrey Salkin on thanking these universities. I’ve been trying to so via Twitter. How about […]

Leave a Reply