Spread the Word: Virtual Events Commemorating Yom HaZikaron and Yom HaAtzmaut

April 5, 2021Rabbi Josh Weinberg

As Yom HaZikaron (Israeli Memorial Day) and Yom HaAtzmaut (Israeli Independence Day) approach during this continued period of social distancing, you're invited to join the Reform Movement and our partners for any and all of the following online events in observance of the two holidays. 

For resources for observing the two holidays, visit ReformJudaism.org and sign up for our emails.

Yom HaZikaron Events

  • The Declaration of Independence at the Kotel
    Sunday, April 11, at 11:30 a.m. ET / 8:30 a.m. PT
    Join the World Wide Reform Movement, the World Zionist Organization, and many Jewish leaders from around the world for a celebratory and dramatic reading of the Israel’s Scroll of Independence (with trope!) live from the Western Wall in Jerusalem to celebrate Israel’s 73rd Independence Day.
      
  • The Masa Yom HaZikaron Virtual Memorial Ceremony
    Tuesday, April 13 at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
    On the eve of Yom HaZikaron, we will commemorate IDF soldiers and victims of terror at the largest virtual ceremony for the Jewish world. For Israelis, this day is one of the most important of the year as we recognize those who sacrificed their lives for our great country. At Masa, we see it as our opportunity and responsibility to share the centrality of this day.
      
  • The Israeli-Palestinian Joint Memorial Day Ceremony
    Tuesday, April 13 at 1:30 p.m. ET / 10:30 a.m. PT
    Featuring presentations by Israeli and Palestinian artists and speakers, this Ceremony has been called the largest Israeli-Palestinian peace event in history. Especially now, when the world seems so dark, the Ceremony offers us hope for a new vision: full of light, life, and hope. This #JointMemorial2021 is organized by Combatants for Peace and the Parents Circle-Families Forum.
      
  • Zionist Beit Midrash 
    Tuesday, April 13 at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
    Led by Rabbi Josh Weinberg, this special session will feature three presenters who will share about their IDF service and will each teach one text that connects to their experience and the theme of this Memorial to Israel’s fallen.

Yom HaAtzmaut Events

  • Reform Movement-Wide Yom HaAtzmaut Celebration
    Thursday, April 15 at 12 p.m. ET / 9 a.m. PT
    Join the Israel Movement for Progressive Judaism, in partnership with ARZA, Arzenu, and the World Union for Progressive Judaism, for a special event celebrating Israel's 73 Independence Day. Want to see yourself in the event? Send us a photo from one of your trips to Israel, by April 10th, to impj@reform.org.il, and/or prepare a flag of Israel and of your own country to put in the background.
     
  • Celebrate Israel
    Thursday, April 15 at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT
    Join Jewish Federations of North America for a worldwide celebration of Israel’s 73rd Independence Day. Bid farewell to His Excellency Reuven Rivlin as he completes his term as Israel's tenth president.
      
  • Oneg Shabbat
    Friday, April 16 at 9:30 p.m. ET / 6:30 p.m. PT
    Join a program packed with music, discussion, Torah, thought, and fun! On Friday night, join us for a special online Oneg Shabbat with songs and stories hosted by Rabbi Josh Weinberg, the Union for Reform Judaism's vice president of Israel and Reform Zionism, and friends at 9:30pm Eastern.
       
  • Shabbat Discussion
    Saturday, April 17 at 1 p.m. ET / 10 a.m. PT
    Join us for a Shabbat conversation that explores all things Israel: literature, politics, society, and more. Use the linked expression of interest form to receive links to join this live event, or watch on the Arzenu YouTube channel or the ARZA Facebook page
       
  • Musical Havdalah and Concert
    Saturday, April 17 at 3 p.m. ET / 12 p.m. PT
    Welcome the end of Shabbat with Boaz Dorot, Shani Ben Or, and the Nigunim Ensemble. Use the linked expression of interest form to receive links to join this live event, or watch on the Arzenu YouTube channel or the ARZA Facebook page

Related Posts

Seeking Jewish Values Amidst Broken Glass

January 18, 2023
Nearly two months ago, our Just Zionism group landed in Israel as the election to cement a far-right government in the Knesset was taking effect. When we landed, I had a surface-level understanding of Israeli politics but was about to get a crash course on the election's implications for the activists who were heartbroken by the results.

Israel is Messy and I Love It

December 20, 2022
On November 2, 2022, I landed at Ben Gurion Airport for the first time. Filled with many emotions, this being my first trip to Israel, I decided to keep an open mind as I joined twelve young adult leaders on a journey to learn more about Israel, Zionism, and why Jews in the Diaspora, especially in the United States, should be engaged.

Aliyah to Israel is a Reform Value, Too!

October 18, 2022
There are a few days in my life that stand out. There are the big milestones: my first days of school, going to camp for the first time, and my first homerun. Another one of those dates that stands out is December 28th, 2015. That was the day that I made aliyah and became an Israeli citizen.